Cultivating Community since 1796
Search the Catalog

Online Research

 

Boxford Library Databases and Reference Sources by Subject


Arts & Humanities

Communication & Mass Media Collection
Offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers, it’s continuously updated to ensure researchers have access to the very latest information.

Fine Arts & Music Collection
Places 10.4 million articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, this library resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.


Automobile

Kelley Blue Book
Click here for everything you need to research a new or used car, compare cars, find cars for sale and make a well-informed decision.

NADA
Click here for the National Automobile Dealers Association.

Safercar.gov
Click here for safer car information from the U.S. Department of Transportation.

 


Biography

 Biography in Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world’s most influential people. It merges Gale’s authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.


Borrowing Outside the MVLC Network

Commmonwealth Catalog

The Boxford Town Library is part of the Commonwealth Catalog, a free statewide lending system! In one easy step, you can search through millions of items at participating Massachusetts libraries. If you cannot find an item in the MVLC network, just click on the link for Commonwealth Catalog on our online catalog.  The new interface is easy to use and requires only a valid Massachusetts library card.

 

wcat logoOCLC WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog – Offers more than 46 million bibliographic records and holdings information vital for collection development, cataloging, authority control, and retrospective conversion services.


Business

Business Collection
Provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Business Economics and Theory Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association’s EconLit bibliography.

Insurance & Liability Collection
Provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.

morningstar-470x260Designed specifically for individual investors, Morningstar Database includes research on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. The database also allows you to build and test a portfolio and to take interactive workshops and classes to sharpen your investing skills.   Click here to get started

 

Small Business Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs. Offers content that includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.

 

Small Business Resource Center

Gives business owners 24-hour expertise covering a day all aspects of starting and operating a business, including finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes.  Small Business Resource Center containing hundreds of sample business plans created by real-life entrepreneurs, award-winning eBooks, as well as content from over 300 business journals and magazines.


 Careers, Education & Testing

Criminal Justice Collection
Informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.

LEARNING EXPRESS – Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library’s resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You’ll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that’s right for you.
Career Preparation
High School Equivalency Center
College Admission Test Preparation
School Center
College Students
Adult Core Skills
Computer Skills Center
Recursos Para Hispanohablantes

Driver’s Ed

The Boxford Town Library has joined over 2,000 US libraries (90 in Massachusetts) that are offering Driver’s Ed programs to their communities. The program doesn’t collect any personal information and includes unlimited online access to the official Registry of Motor Vehicles manuals, MA-specific RMV practice tests for car, motorcycle, and commercial driver’s license (CDL), exam simulator, and RMV-related FAQ.

Educator’s Reference Complete
Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.

Vocations & Careers Collections
Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.


Current Issues

Global Issues in Context
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers researchers to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search, Global Issues In Context brings essential, balanced information to researchers across many academic disciplines, as well as newsworthy topics.

InfoTrac Newsstand
Searchable access to 1,100+ global newpapers, images, broadcasts, and transcripts.


EBSCO

These resources are available from EBSCO Host for all Boxford patrons (you will need to enter your library card number):
• NoveList
• GreenFile
• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
• Teacher Reference Center
• EBSCOhost Research Databases


Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia with dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, and more.

 


Genealogy

ancestryInterested in finding a distant relative? Wondering if your ancestors were from Italy or Greece?  Ancestry.com Library Edition can help you answer all those questions and more.  Accessible only on library computers


General

Database PowerSearch
Gale PowerSearch is a search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information.

 

Expanded Academic ASAP

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

 

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers. Full-text periodicals and popular magazines.

Academic OneFile
The premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.


Health & Nursing

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more. Health-related issues with daily periodical and newspaper updates.

Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum

Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.


History

Military & Intelligence Database

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

U.S. History in Context

U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. An always-intuitive experience supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.

U.S. History Collection

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

War & Terrorism Collection

Provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.

World History Collection

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.


Home & Travel

Culinary Arts Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. Includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Home Improvement Collection

Provides access to titles covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. The database offers content that meets the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. Offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.


K-12 Resources

Research in Context
Designed specifically for middle school-aged researchers. Research In Context covers the most-studied topics like culture, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature and more, via engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content.

InfoTrac Student Edition
Provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

Kids InfoBits
Content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use and features age-appropriate, reliable, and perfect for today’s young learners. Its curriculum-related content covers a broad range of educational topics via a modern, graphical interface. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching. Kids InfoBits addresses the way kids learn and conduct research – and makes it fun!


Language Learning

mango logo

Mango Languages offers conversational foreign language courses in 62 languages (and 17 ELL courses) that you can access from anywhere you like. Just log in with your Boxford Library card – Click here to start learning now!

Also check out the free apps from Mango languages – download Mango to your device and lean on the go! (More info HERE)


Legal

Through a partnership with the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, the Social Law Library is making available to the Commonwealth’s public libraries access to its self-published, proprietary legal-research databases in Massachusetts court and state agency decisions, many of which are not publicly available in keyword-searchable format anywhere else.

Access is limited to in-library use by staff and patrons. Patrons wishing to access the Databases will be logged in by a library staff member.


Newspapers & Magazines

The Boston Globe
Full-text coverage from 1980.

 

 

The New York Times
Full-text coverage from 1985.

InfoTrac Newsstand
Searchable access to 1,000+ global newpapers, images, broadcasts, and transcripts.

Popular Magazines
Provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.


Science
Science in Context
An engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws researchers into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.

General Science Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

Agriculture Collection provides a comprehensive view of agriculture and related fields. Provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry — from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.


Social Sciences

Criminal Justice Collection
Targeted collection of 700+ journals covering criminal justice including law enforcement, paralegal topics, and homeland security.

Diversity Studies Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. A must-have for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

Gender Studies Collection
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues and more.

IInformation Science and Library Issues Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and trade publications essential for information professionals and other knowledge workers. The database offers coverage of topics including information infrastructure, metadata architecture, publishing, and more.

Pop Culture Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. Offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses.

Psychology Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.

 


Are you still looking for more resources? No problem, sign up for a free Boston Public Library eCard!


Sign up for a BPL eCard and get access to:

Boston Public Library eCard

 



 

 

What's New